Florida lawmakers have approved a bill to charge you about $25 less per year to register your car and renew that registration. 

The cuts amount to $400 million in fees charged to Florida drivers.  This wipes away increases in those fees put into place five years ago when the state was dealing with a major budget gap caused by the recession. 

The fee changes take effect on September 1st, so if your birthday comes during the last four months of the year, you'll enjoy the lower rates now, otherwise you'll have to wait until next year.

Governor Rick Scott still has to sign the bill into law, but he is expected to do so after working to promote it.

Photo: Getty Images